Oyo Assembly okays sack of council chiefs


The Oyo State House of Assembly on Tuesday unanimously approved the decision of Governor Seyi Makinde to dissolve the state Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC).

The lawmakers also declared the election conducted into the 35 local council development areas (LCDAs) by the state electoral umpire on May 12, 2018, as “unconstitutional, ultra vires, null and void”.

Justifying the decision, the lawmakers held that “the election negated the provisions of section 4(a), part II, third schedule to the 1999 Constitution (as amended), which recognised conduct of election into local government areas”.

The plenary was presided over by Speaker Adebo Ogundoyin.

The Assembly also held that the election contravened Section 5(a) of the OYSIEC law 1999, that empowered the electoral commission to organise elections into local government councils and not LCDAs.

Consequently, the Assembly averred that Makinde’s dissolution of OYSIEC was in public interest and in preservation of the sanctity of the nation’s 1999 Constitution.

The positions of the lawmakers formed parts of the day’s resolutions from a matter of urgent public importance presented by the House Majority Leader, Mr. Sanjo Adedoyin, entitled, “Need to review the activities of OYSIEC over conduct of local government and local council development areas election in conformity with provisions of the laws”.

Majority of members also voiced loud “ayes”, asking the executive to urgently reconstitute the OYSIEC to organise fresh elections into local government councils.

They argued that the power of the OYSIEC was limited to conducting election into local government councils alone and not LCDAs.

Contributing in the ensuing discussion, Mr. Dele Adeola (Iseyin/Itesiwaju constituency) maintained that section 201 of the constitution recognised only 33 local government areas in the state, hence conducting election into 35 LCDAs amounted to illegality.

He added that conducting election into the LCDAs amounted to legalising illegality which should be corrected.

Consequently, Speaker of the Assembly, Ogundoyin announced the setting up of an eight-man ad hoc committee headed by Mr. Ademola Popoola (Ibadan South East II state constituency).

Raising objection to the resolutions, Minority Leader, Asimiyu Alarape, argued that the Assembly had in 2002, during the Lam Adesina administration, approved the creation of additional local government areas and its nomenclature was only changed to LCDAs during the Eighth Assembly.

To this end, Alarape said the law creating the LCDAs had not been repealed, hence its creation should not be rubbished.

After a series of argument, lawmakers Ayotunde Fatokun (Akinyele 1), Mabaje Rasaq (Ido), Babatunde Ganiyu (Akinyele II) and Abiodun Fadeyi (Ona Ara), in their separate contributions, held that the dissolution of OYSIEC should stand.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here