Commissioners for Education in Northern states back Minister’s decision to suspend reopening of schools


The Commissioners of Education in the 19 Northern States have thrown their weight behind the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu’s decision to suspend the reopening of schools across the country following the spike in the number of COVID-19 cases in the country.

A statement released by the commissioners after a virtual meeting on Friday, July 10, applauded the Minister of Education for taking a decisive stand against school reopening and pledged their full support. According to Commissioners, keeping schools closed is a sure step in ensuring that children remain safe.


“We have, therefore, resolved that schools should be reopened only when it is safe to do so and when states have complied with the minimum COVID-19 safety protocols as outlined by the NCDC.

We will also participate in the West African Senior School Certificate Examination and other examinations only when it is safe to reopen schools and when coordinated by the Federal Ministry of Education,” the statement read

The commissioners also resolved to carry out a holistic assessment of schools in their respective states to determine the safety status of each school for reopening and submit reports to their respective governors for consideration. They urged their respective state governments to take steps to provide critical facilities required for the reopening of schools as specified by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control.

“Schools’ infrastructure, such as dilapidated classrooms, students’ hostels, source of safe water, sanitary facilities, including handwashing equipment and security are critical and should be improved. We will equally clear schools of bushes and grasses, as well as fumigate school’s surroundings to support learning and ensure safety when schools resume,” their statement read

The virtual meeting was attended by commissioners of 13 of the 19 northern states namely, Kaduna, Bauchi, Gombe, Niger, Nasarawa, Adamawa, Taraba, Kogi, Kwara, Katsina, Kano, Borno and Jigawa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here