2019 Elections: INEC Releases Final List of Contestants


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the full list of candidates contesting for the Presidential, Senatorial and House of Representatives in the 2019 elections.

The list was published on the INEC website on Thursday.

The documents were signed by Rose-Oriaran Anthony, secretary of the electoral commission.

The presidential candidates’ list features a total of 72 Presidential candidates and 72 Vice Presidential Candidates to make 144 names

On the Presidential list were the incumbent and his Vice, President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, who are the candidates of the All Progressives Congress; former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar, and former Governor Peter Obi who are the Presidential and Vice-Presidential candidates, respectively, of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Mrs. Oby Ezekwesili, Presidential candidate of the Allied Peoples Movement of Nigeria (APMN); Mr. Omoyele Sowore of the African Action Congress (ACC); Mr. Kingsley Moghalu of the Young Progressives Party (YPP); Mr. Sina Fagbenro-Byron of the KOWA Party (KP); and Mr. Fela Durotoye of the Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN) also made the final list.


A total of 17 names were released for the Lagos East Senatorial election with the four term member of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. Osinowo Sikiru Adebayo, APC, Princess Oyefusi Abiodun Adetola, PDP, Mr Francis Shonubi, AAC, Mrs Fakoya Olajumoke Modupe, ADC, Lijadu Ayodele Cyril, KP, Mustapha Bolarinwa, AD and Aderonke Iyabode Adeniji, PPN and others appearing on the final list

14 candidates were cleared for the Lagos Central Senatorial District, while 23 candidates cleared for Lagos Central


For the Ikorodu Federal House of Representatives seat, 11 candidates were released on the final list of the electoral umpire

Some of the candidates cleared to contest in the February 2019 election were the incumbent, Hon. Benson Babajimi Adegoke, APC, Disu Ramota Omotola, PDP, Bakare Ahmed Temitayo, AD, Arinze Chris Emenayo, ADC, Olayiwola Adam Olawale, PPN and Inimfon Osikoya, SDP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here